JEA Board Approves Transaction with FPL to Close 848-MW Coal Unit in Georgia

LCG, June 30, 2020--The JEA Board of Directors in a special meeting last Friday unanimously approved a transaction that will result in closing an 848-MW unit at Plant Scherer and entering into a 20-year purchase power agreement (PPA) with Florida Power & Light Company (FPL).

Read more

Analysis of Resource Adequacy in ERCOT - July - December 2020

LCG, June 30, 2020 - LCG Consulting just released its analysis of ERCOT for the second half of 2020, July through December.

Read more

Industry News


Dennis Fishback has joined Calpine Corp. as senior vice president and chief information officer. A 20-year veteran of Virginia Power, he most recently supervised all informationtechnology activities for the California Independent System Operator.

Roger W. Hale will retire as chairman and chief executive of LG&E Energy Corp., effective April 30. President and chief operating officer Victor A. Staffieri will succeed Hale as chief executive officer of LG&E, which is now a subsidiary of British utility Powergen Plc.

Edwin D. Hill has been elected International President of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers to fill the remaining term of J. J. Barry who announced his retirement. Hill had been the International Secretary-Treasurer of the union.

John Jackson has been promoted to vice president and chief financial officer of Duke Energy Field Services, effective February 21. He joined the Duke Energy Corp. unit with the 1999 acquisition of UP Fuels and has been serving as controller.

Robert Sinuc has joined fuel cell maker Plug Power Inc. as vice president for engineering, bringing with him more than 30 years of experience in engineering, manufacturing, logisticsand customer relations with GE Plastics, Allied Signal and Honeywell.

George Wilson has been appointed by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission as an agency resident inspector at Exelon Corp.'s LaSalle nuclear power plant in Marseilles, Ill.

E. Jenner Wood III has been elected a director of Georgia Power Co. He is president of SunTrust Bank, Atlanta, and SunTrust Bank, Georgia.

El Paso Energy Announces Post-Merger Board

El Paso Energy Corp. has announced its new board of directors following the company's merger with The Coastal Corp. The board consists of 12 directors -- seven designated by El Paso Energy and five designated by Coastal.

  • Byron Allumbaugh, who has served as an El Paso director since July 1992 and is also a director of several other corporations.

  • David A. Arledge is joining the El Paso board as non-executive vice chairman. He previously served as president of Coastal before assuming the chief executive officer position in 1995 and was named chairman in 1997.

  • John M. Bissell, a former director of Coastal and chairman of Bissell Inc.

  • Juan Carlos Braniff, a director and vice chairman of Grupo Financiero BBVA Bancomer and an El Paso director since 1997.

  • James F. Gibbons, a professor of electrical engineering at Stanford University and specialcounsel to the president for industry relations. Dr. Gibbons has been an El Paso director since 1994 and is also a trustee of Stanford. He was dean of the university's School of Engineering from 1984 to 1996.

  • Anthony W. Hall Jr. is joining El Paso from Coastal and is a city attorney for the City of Houston. He is a former member of the Houston City Council and the Texas House of Representatives.

  • Ronald L. Kuehn Jr., an El Paso director since 1999 and is also a director of several other corporations.

  • J. Carleton MacNeil Jr. became a director for Coastal in 1997 and continues to serve as adirector for a number of other corporations.

  • Thomas R. McDade served as a director for Coastal and currently holds a senior partnership at the law firm of McDade Fogler Maines.

  • Malcolm Wallop, who has been a director for El Paso since 1995. He is chairman of Western Strategy Group and has been president of Frontiers of Freedom Foundation since 1996. Wallop was a U.S. senator from 1978 to 1996 and is also a director of several other firms.
  • William A. Wise has been an El Paso director since 1984 and is chairman, president and chief executive officer of the company.

  • Joe B. Wyatt has been a director of El Paso since 1999 and is chancellor emeritus ofVanderbilt University.

Copyright © 2020 LCG Consulting. All rights reserved. Terms and Copyright
Generator X
Generation and Transmission Planning and Optimization
The Locational Marginal Price Model (LMP) Network Power Model
Day Ahead and Real Time Market Simulation
Day-ahead and real-time portfolio revenue optimization
The Gas Procurement and Competitive Analysis System
Database of Plants, Loads, Assets, Transmission...
Daily LMP Forecast for ERCOT
Annual summary of prices, congestion and important events in ERCOT
CAISO CRR Auctions
Monthly Price and Congestion Forecasting Service